“The officer who fired the fatal shots at the 16-year-old, however, was cleared of all charges by a grand jury.”
W T F
There is absolutely no justice in this. First of all why is he being tried as an adult?
basically the reasoning behind this bs is that he was an accessory to murder because he was involved in the robbery, which “caused” the officer to have to fire his gun. laiketh was offered 25 years if he plead guilty, 65 if he took it to trial. (long sentences like this are basically used to scare people into pleading guilty.) he decided to fight (because, you know, he didn’t actually shoot anyone) but he lost. it’s so sad and stupid.
The moral of the story? Don’t be a burglar.
Yep
That’s still really fucked up. He’s being charged with a murder he had no part in because he was an accomplise in a robbery….the fuck?
Felony murder. If you take part in a felony and someone dies, it’s on you.This ha been a law on the books for ages. You rob a bank and cops come, if a cop accidentally discharges their gun and the bullet hits a hostage, it’s your fault because the hostage and cop wouldnt be in the situation without you.
Dont be a burglar.
I get that but it doesn’t make it less Fucked up
*loud shrug*
Why am I supposed to feel sorry for him again?
Because he is still a minor being sentenced to what’s essentially live with a very low chance or parole, which is still fucked.
So while the law plans for deaths in the course of a robbery, i had never and will never support trying minors as adults for proxy crimes.
That’s awful… what he did was wrong, but he shouldn’t be punished that severely.
I’m not surprised OP didn’t provide a link to the article. If they had, people might find out that this dude is not some poor, defenseless victim.
He was offered a plea and he denied it. The others did take it so they’ll probably be out much sooner.
They had guns and they engaged in a shootout with police. The cop got off because he responded accordingly.